Dear God,

This year, I thought it would be great to take time of every so often to appreciate someone who has imparted something into my life by way of knowledge, life experience or art. Its exciting to me because I am gradually learning the art of sharing and the fact that the world does not revolve around me.

So this month, I have chosen to appreciate an artist who took me on as an intern even when I had no knowledge of how the “American film art world” works. I say this in light of the fact that I have learnt much more at the Chimpanzee productions office with Thomas and the whole team than I have given back and for that I most grateful. So if its not too much to ask, my letter to you won’t be long as I want to devote the rest of the time to appreciate THOMAS ALLEN HARRIS.

I first met Award winning filmmaker, journalist, artist, and activist, Thomas Allen Harris, in Ghana at the National Film and Television Institute (NAFTI) where I was a student. His film the 12 Disciples of Nelson Mandela was a real eye opener. Then I met him again at the New Media Institute(NMI) in Jackson Mississippi. I must honestly add that although he mad a lasting impression on me on both occasions, I didn’t give the networking opportunity much thought. My decision to do an MBA instead of an MFA was very rash and only went to serve my purposes ( I’d rather not discuss those issues here). Anyways as soon as I started the course I felt out of touch with the film world I love so much. I became bored quickly and desperately wanted in. It was a big day when I saw on Linked in that Thomas was looking for people to help with his new project. I called, emailed, then had an interview. I however had a feeling that my “very impressive African credentials” were not up to par in the American world. Lol I mean, I couldn’t edit much, all I had done was write and direct and that was not really what they needed at the time. Anyway, despite my own misgivings about me, Thomas was a good sport. He took me on and basically made me do anything that I was capable of doing and those I couldn’t do, they taught me.

Thomas Allen Harris is currently in production with his fourth feature-length documentary, “Through a Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People.” Co-produced by noted scholar, curator, and author, Dr. Deborah Willis, “Through A Lens Darkly,” is the first documentary and multimedia outreach project that explores how African American communities have used the medium of photography to construct political, aesthetic, and cultural representations of themselves and their world.

The “Through A Lens Darkly” project is part of a new generation of interactive media that expands the boundaries of participatory filmmaking by using both traditional documentary and multimedia platforms to engage television and internet audiences in new, creative, and transformative ways.

“Why leave your photographs stored in boxes when you can use them to educate and empower new generations about Who we are and Where we come from?”

This month, Harlem Stage will host Harris’ latest creation, Digital Diaspora Family Reunion – a new participatory multimedia initiative where audiences bring history to life through their photographic images and stories. Participants can bring their photo albums, pictures and mementos to Harlem Stage on February 22nd through 25th and share family stories as part of the DDFR ROADSHOW. The best is always reserved for last. On Sunday, February 27th there is a special Live Event at Harlem Stage to celebrate Harlem’s Hidden History…YOURS!

This is a completely unique and innovative project, which engages communities in a very intimate way while connecting to a larger context of social engagement, legacy, history through the lens of the personal. As far as we know, no one else has or is doing anything like this. Harris’ relationship with Harlem Stage spans over a few years. In 2002, his film That’s My Face was presented on the Harlem Stage on Screen series and he has moderated several discussions with filmmakers from the Black Documentary Collective and NewFest. It will not be a a fair write-up without my mentioning Ms. Ann Bennett the Multimedia Producer at Chimpanzee productions from whom I have learnt immensely. Computer and internet suave, If ever there is a better “silent” mentor, it will Ann Bennett. I have also had the opportunity of meeting a lot of people who are either learning to be filmmakers or accomplished filmmakers and it all boils down to the one chance I was given.

Check out the following links to read more about Thomas and the great work he is doing with DDFR, and Through A lens Darkly. And to be his friend, like the page, enjoy the pictures and surely, come out to one of his events in your community.

http://ddfr.tv/

http://www.throughalensdarkly.tv/

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Through-a-Lens-Darkly/18696949055?ref=ts

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tald/sets

http://chimpanzeeproductions.com/

 

Dear God, I am glad that you led me to learn from Thomas and his team. I am proud to be a part of people this talented and willing to share. It has taught me how to give back and teach whoever comes to me with a need to learn what little I know. Thank you so much because now I know much more than I knew a year ago.

Al ways, LIVE LAUGH lOVE

ZoeBaraka